Orissa News

Shri Biju Patnaik, the Leader of the Janata Party, was declared the Leader of the Opposition on the 22nd March, 1985.In the bye-election held on the 24th April, 1985, two seats (Kakatpur and Keonjhar Constituencies) went to Janata Party candidates and one seat (Khurda Constituency) went to an Independent candidate. Shri Bhabendra Nath Majhi, a sitting Congress (I) Member from Rairangpur Constituency, expired on the 3rd March, 1986 and Shri Chaitanya Prasad Majhi, Janata Party candidate, was elected in the bye-election held on the 23rd November, 1986. Shri Purna Chandra Mahananda another sitting Congress (I) Member from Titilagarh Constituency expired on the 18th May, 1989. Shri Bhajaman Behera, Congress (I) Member (Talcher) ceased to be a Member of the House under Anti-Defection Act, with effect from the 15th September, 1989. Shri Trilochan Kanungo, Independent Member (Govindpur) resigned on the 15th September, 1989 from his Membership. Four sitting Members (Three from Janata Dal and one Independent) also resigned from their membership on the 6th and 7th December, 1989, as they were elected to Lok Sabha in the General Election held on the 24th November, 1989. Shri Raj Kishore Pradhan, Congress (I) (Deogarh) and Shri Bibhudhendra Pratap Das, Congress (I) (Pallahara) resigned on the 30th December, 1989 from their membership.Shri Janaki Ballav Patnaik, Chief Minister resigned on the 7th December, 1989 and Shri Hemananda Biswal became the Chief Minister on the same day. The Assembly had all total 11 sessions with 188 sitting days and the Ninth Assembly was dissolved on the 3rd March, 1990.

1990 - Tenth Assembly of Orissa Legislative Council

The General Election to the Tenth Assembly was held on the 27th February, 1990.As per the result of the election, the party position in the Assembly was as follows:

Janata Dal 123
Indian National Congress 10
B.J.P 2
C.P.I(M) 1
C.P.I 5
Independents 6
Total 147

On the 1st March, 1990, the elected Member from Dhamnagar Constituency expired. In the bye-election held for the Dhamnagar Constituency on the 29th April, 1990 Janata Dal candidate was returned to the House.The new House was constituted on the 3rd March, 1990. Shri Biju Patnaik, Leader of the Janata Dal became the Chief Minister on the 5th March, 1990. Shri Ghasiram Majhi was the Speaker protem. He administered Oath to the newly elected Members on the 6th and 7th March, 1990. Shri Yudhisthir Das was unanimously elected as the Speaker on the 9th March, 1990. On the 22nd March, 1990, Shri Prahlad Dora was elected unanimously as Deputy Speaker. The members from Bahalada and Bangiriposi Constituencies took oath on the 28th March, 1990. The first session of the 10th Assembly was held from the 19th March, 1990 to the 29th March, 1990.

None of the Opposition Parties secured requisite number of seats, as a result of which in the Tenth Assembly, there was no recognised Opposition Party. Shri Arjun Charan Sethi (Bhandaripokhari) and Shri Braja Kishore Tripathy (Puri), both Janata Dal Members resigned from their membership on the 30th June, 1991 and 1st July, 1991, respectively, as they were elected in the General Election held on the 15th June, for Tenth Lok Sabha.Shri Nikunja Bihari Singh, a sitting Member of Janata Dal from Bijepur Constituency expired on the 24th August, 1991. In the bye-election held on the 16th November, 1991 for Bhandaripokhari, Puri and Bijepur Constituencies, Janata Dal candidates were elected from all the three Assembly Constituencies. Shri Radhakanta Sethi, an elected Member from C.P.I. (M) Party informed on the 19th September, 1991 to work as Independent Member in the Assembly and subsequently on the 4th March, 1992 informed to work as Member of the Orissa Communist Party. The membership of Shri Sudam Chandra Marandi elected from Bangiriposi Constituency ceased with effect from the 7th January, 1992 under Article 190 (3) of the Constitution for a period of 3 years.

On the 2nd April, 1992, Shri Naka Kanaya, the elected Member from Malkangiri Constituency was expired. In the bye-election held for this Constituency on the 8th June, 1992, Shri Arabinda Dhali was returned to the House as Bharatiya Janata Party candidate.On the 17th October, 1992, Shri Trinath Nayak, the elected Member from Hindol Constituency and a Minister, was expired. In the bye-election held for this constituency on the 19th May, 1993, Smt. Patta Nayak was elected to the House as Janata Dal candidate. Shri Kumar Behera, elected Member from Bhatli (S.C.) Constituency was declared to be disqualified to hold the membership under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution of India as he resigned from the party, w.e.f., the 1st December, 1994.