Orissa News

Biju Janata Dal 68
Indian National Congress 38
B.J.P 32
Orissa Gana Parishad 2
CPI(M) 1
        Independents 8
Total 147

The Thirteenth Orissa Legislative Assembly was constituted on the 15th May 2004.Shri Habibulla Khan, M.L.A. was appointed as Protem Speaker on the 18th May 2004 to perform the duties of the Office of the Speaker until a Speaker's elected. He administered Oath to the elected Members of the Thirteenth Orissa Legislative on the 19th and 20th May 2004.Shri Maheswar Mohanty and Shri Prahlad Dora were elected as the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Orissa Legislative Assembly on the 21st May 2004 and 3rd July 2004 respectively. Shri Mohanty resigned on 31st March, 2008. Shri Kishore Kumar Mohanty was elected Speaker on the 19th August, 2008

Shri Naveen Patnaik, the Leader of the Biju Janata Dal Legislature Party was sworn in as Chief Minister along with 14 Cabinet Ministers and 1 Ministers of State on the 16th May 2004.On the 26th July 2004 Smt. Pramila Mallik, Cabinet Minister of Women and Child Development tendered her resignation and her portfolios were allotted to the Chief Minister. She was rein ducted to the Cabinet with the same portfolios on the 22nd September 2004.

On the 23rd March 2006 Shri Rabi Narayan Nanda, Minister of State, Science & Technology (Independent Charge) and Water Resources tendered his resignation and his portfolios were allotted to the Chief Minister. On the 25th April 2006 Shri Kalindi Behera, Minister, Scheduled Tribes & Scheduled Castes Development (Scheduled Castes Development), Minorities & Backward Classes Welfare and Excise tendered his resignation and the portfolios were temporarily allotted to Shri Padmanabha Behera, Minister of Steel & Mines and Parliamentary Affairs. On the 29th April 2006 Shri Pradipta Kumar Naik, Minister of State (Independent Charge), Labor & Employment tendered his resignation and the portfolio was allocated to Shri Jayanarayan Mishra, Minister of State, Commerce & Transport (Independent Charge).

On the 17th May, 2006 Dr. Damodar Rout, Minister, Panchayati Raj & Culture, Shri Bijayashree Routray, Minister, Health and Family Welfare, Shri Balabhadra Majhi, Minister of State (Independent Charge) ST & SC Development (ST Development) and Shri Nagendra Kumar Pradhan, Minister of State (Independent Charge), School and Mass Education tendered their resignation and the following persons were inducted to the Council of Ministers;

Cabinet Ministers

  • Shri C.P. Majhi
  • Shri Raghunath Mohanty
  • Shri Bishnu Charan Das

Minister of State (Independent Charge)

  • Shri Duryodhan Majhi
  • Shri Debi Prasad Mishra
  • Shri Sanjeev Kumar Sahoo

Leader of Opposition

Shri Janaki Ballav Patnaik, M.L.A., the Leader of the Indian National Congress Legislature Party was recognized as the Leader of the Opposition on the 4th June, 2004 has ceased from 24.01.2009 and Shri Ulaka Ramachandra has been recognized as the Leader of the Opposition from 24.01.2009.

2009 – Fourteenth Assembly of Orissa Legislative Council

The elections for the fourteenth assembly election were held in 2009 in three phases in the state. As per the results, the party position was as under:

B.J.D 108
Congress 25
C.P.I 8
C.P.I (M) 0
Independents 0
Others 5
Total 147

Mr. Naveen Patnaik was administered the oath as the chief minister on 21st May 2009 alongwith eleven ministers of cabinet rank and nine are ministers of state rank by the Governor of Orissa Mr.M C Bhandare.

The assembly is in progress.